IBPS RRB Syllabus & Exam Pattern 2026
Every topic matched to the official PDF Official notice, www.ibps.in
Official notice PDF www.ibps.inIBPS RRB is the Common Recruitment Process the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection runs once a year for the Regional Rural Banks — 28 of them, one for each State and Union Territory listed in Table A of the advertisement. Four posts are filled through it: Office Assistant (Multipurpose), and Officer Scale-I (Assistant Manager), Scale-II (Manager) and Scale-III (Senior Manager). There are two different routes, and which one you are on decides how you should plan. Office Assistant and Officer Scale-I sit a Preliminary examination and then a Main examination; Officer Scale-II and Scale-III sit one Single Level examination instead. The one thing worth fixing in your head before you plan a single week: the Preliminary examination decides nothing except who reaches the Main paper — the advertisement states that for Office Assistant the merit list is drawn from the Main examination alone, and for Officer Scale-I the Main examination alone decides both the interview shortlist and the merit.
Exam Pattern
| Paper | Questions | Marks | Duration | Medium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Preliminary paper | 80 | 80 | 45 minutes | The state's own version of the tests |
| Officer Scale-I Preliminary paper | 80 | 80 | 45 minutes | The state's own version of the tests |
| Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Main paper | 200 | 200 | 120 minutes | The state's own version, except the language test you opt for |
| Officer Scale-I Main paper | 200 | 200 | 120 minutes | The state's own version, except the language test you opt for |
| Officer Scale-II (General Banking Officer) Single Level paper | 200 | 200 | 120 minutes | Hindi or English, except the language test you opt for |
| Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) Single Level paper | 240 | 200 | 150 minutes | Hindi or English, except the language test you opt for |
| Officer Scale-III Single Level paper | 200 | 200 | 120 minutes | Hindi or English, except the language test you opt for |
Tentative schedule on the advertisement's cover page: online registration and fee payment 01.09.2026 to 21.09.2026, an edit window for two days after registration closes, Pre-Examination Training in November 2026, the Preliminary examination in November/December 2026, its result in December 2026/January 2027, the Main and Single Level examinations in December 2026/February 2027, their result in January 2027, interviews in January/February 2027 and provisional allotment in February/March 2027. The advertisement calls this schedule tentative and asks candidates to watch ibps.in. Negative marking is the same rule in all three examinations — one fourth, or 0.25, of the marks assigned to that question is deducted for a wrong answer, and a question left blank costs nothing. Read that against the tables below before you decide how freely to guess: the tests do not all carry the same marks for the same 40 questions, so the same wrong answer is not worth the same in every section. One paper breaks the shape of all the others — Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) is 240 questions for 200 marks in 150 minutes, where every other paper on this page is 200 for 200 in 120 minutes.
Full Syllabus
1 Preliminary examination — Office Assistant (Multipurpose) and Officer Scale-I 80 Q
The advertisement prints these as two tables, one per post, and every cell matches except the name of the second test. Both total 80 questions, 80 marks and 45 minutes. Officer Scale-II and Scale-III candidates do not sit this stage at all.
| What the syllabus lists | What it means and how to prepare |
|---|---|
| Reasoning (Preliminary) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 25 minutes — the longer of the two slots, for both posts. This is the only test in the Preliminary paper whose name is identical for Office Assistant and Officer Scale-I, so one set of practice serves both. Note that the advertisement prints a duration against this test and not only against the paper: 25 minutes is what it gives Reasoning, out of the 45 it gives the paper. |
| Numerical Ability (Preliminary, Office Assistant) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 20 minutes, in the Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Preliminary paper. Five minutes shorter than the Reasoning slot for the same number of questions — the advertisement prints the two durations separately, and they are not interchangeable: you cannot borrow time from one test for the other. |
| Quantitative Aptitude (Preliminary, Officer Scale-I) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 20 minutes, in the Officer Scale-I Preliminary paper. Same shape as the Office Assistant slot above; the advertisement simply gives the test a different name for the officer post. Both Preliminary papers therefore total 80 questions, 80 marks and 45 minutes, and both are printed with that Total row. |
2 Main examination — Office Assistant (Multipurpose) and Officer Scale-I 200 Q
Again two printed tables that agree cell for cell except for the name of the last test, both totalling 200 questions, 200 marks and 120 minutes. Tests 4a and 4b are alternatives — you sit one of them, which is why seven test names appear below for a 200-question paper.
| What the syllabus lists | What it means and how to prepare |
|---|---|
| Reasoning (Main) | 40 questions, 50 marks, 30 minutes. It carries more marks in the Main paper than it did in the Preliminary one, for the same 40 questions — and 50 is the joint-highest mark load in this paper. If you are rationing revision time across five tests, the printed marks column is the honest way to rank them. |
| Computer Knowledge (Main) | 40 questions, 20 marks, 15 minutes — the lowest marks of any test in this paper, in a fifteen-minute slot it shares with General Awareness. The advertisement lists computer knowledge as 'desirable' in the qualification table but tests it for marks here, which is why candidates who skipped it at the application stage still have to sit it. |
| General Awareness (Main) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 15 minutes, in the Office Assistant and Officer Scale-I Main papers. Forty marks in a fifteen-minute slot is the widest gap between reward and time in the paper — this is the one test where knowing or not knowing is instant, so preparation here pays twice. The advertisement prints no topic list for it. |
| English Language (Main) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes, printed in the advertisement as test 4a. You take either 4a or 4b, never both — the advertisement says so under the table in plain words. Which one you take is your choice at the examination, and it does not change the paper's printed total of 200 questions and 200 marks. |
| Hindi Language (Main) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes, printed as test 4b — the alternative to 4a and worth exactly the same marks in exactly the same minutes. Nothing in the advertisement rewards one choice over the other, so pick the language you read faster in, not the one you think looks better. |
| Numerical Ability (Main, Office Assistant) | 40 questions, 50 marks, 30 minutes, in the Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Main paper. Together with Reasoning it carries the paper's joint-highest marks, and this is the paper the advertisement says the Office Assistant merit list is drawn from — so these two tests are where an Office Assistant candidate's plan should start. |
| Quantitative Aptitude (Main, Officer Scale-I) | 40 questions, 50 marks, 30 minutes, in the Officer Scale-I Main paper — the officer post's name for the same slot. The advertisement prints the two Main papers as separate tables whose every other cell matches, so the only structural difference between them is this test's name. |
3 Single Level examination — Officer Scale-II (General Banking Officer) and Officer Scale-III 200 Q
The advertisement prints one table for each of these two posts and every cell is identical, down to the minute: 200 questions, 200 marks, 120 minutes. There is no Preliminary stage for either — this paper is the whole written examination, and it is followed by the interview.
| What the syllabus lists | What it means and how to prepare |
|---|---|
| Reasoning (Single Level) | 40 questions, 50 marks, 30 minutes, in Hindi or English. Officer Scale-II (General Banking Officer) and Officer Scale-III have no Preliminary stage at all — this one paper is the whole written examination, so there is no qualifying round in which to warm up. |
| Computer Knowledge (Single Level) | 40 questions, 20 marks, 15 minutes. Same weight as in the Main paper, and the same trap: forty questions to be read in fifteen minutes, a slot it shares only with Financial Awareness. |
| Financial Awareness (Single Level) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 15 minutes. This is the test that replaces General Awareness for the officer scales — the advertisement gives it a different name in the Scale-II and Scale-III tables, and names nothing under it. |
| English Language (Single Level) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes, printed as 4a. As in the Main paper, you sit either 4a or 4b and the paper's printed total stays 200 questions for 200 marks in 120 minutes. |
| Hindi Language (Single Level) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes, printed as 4b. The advertisement sets the medium of every other test in this paper as Hindi or English, so an officer-scale candidate is never offered a regional-language version the way a Preliminary candidate is. |
| Quantitative Aptitude & Data Interpretation (Single Level) | 40 questions, 50 marks, 30 minutes. The advertisement names data interpretation inside the test's own title here, which it does not do in the Preliminary or Main papers — there the same slot is called Quantitative Aptitude and nothing more is said about it. |
4 Single Level examination — Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) 240 Q
The one paper in this recruitment built differently: seven tests instead of five, and a printed Total of 240 questions for 200 marks in 150 minutes. If you are applying as an IT Officer, Chartered Accountant, Law Officer, Treasury Manager, Marketing Officer or Agricultural Officer, this is your paper.
| What the syllabus lists | What it means and how to prepare |
|---|---|
| Professional Knowledge (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes, and it is printed first in the table. This test exists only in the Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) paper. The advertisement does not say which subject it draws on for each specialist post, so prepare it from the qualification your own post demands and check ibps.in for the information handout. |
| Reasoning (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes. Ten marks lighter here than in the Main and the other Single Level papers, where Reasoning is worth 50 — the specialist paper spreads its 200 marks over seven tests instead of five, so nothing in it is worth as much. |
| Financial Awareness (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 15 minutes — the same 40 marks in half the time the Reasoning slot gets. Of the seven tests in this paper, this and Computer Knowledge are the two the advertisement gives only fifteen minutes each. |
| English Language (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 20 marks, 30 minutes, printed as 4a. Note the marks: in every other paper that has a language test it is worth 40, and in this one it is worth 20 for the same 40 questions in the same 30 minutes. |
| Hindi Language (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 20 marks, 30 minutes, printed as 4b — the alternative to 4a, carrying the same reduced marks. Thirty minutes for twenty marks is the poorest exchange rate in the paper, which is worth knowing before you decide the order you will attempt it in. |
| Computer Knowledge (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 20 marks, 15 minutes — unchanged from the other officer papers, and printed fifth here rather than second. The order of the tests in the table is the advertisement's own; it says nothing about the order they appear in on the screen. |
| Quantitative Aptitude & Data Interpretation (Specialist Cadre) | 40 questions, 40 marks, 30 minutes. The Total row the advertisement prints for this paper reads 240 questions for 200 marks in 150 minutes — the only paper in this recruitment where the number of questions and the number of marks are not the same. Seven tests are listed but 4a and 4b are alternatives here too, so a candidate sits six of them. |
The rules that decide your result
| The rule | What the advertisement says about it |
|---|---|
| penalty for wrong answers | One fourth, or 0.25, of the marks assigned to that question is deducted for each wrong answer. The advertisement applies this to the Preliminary, the Main and the Single Level examinations alike, and states that a question left blank carries no penalty at all. |
| minimum score in each test | You must clear a minimum in every single test, not just in the paper as a whole. In the Preliminary examination the advertisement requires both tests to be qualified; in the Main and Single Level examinations it requires a minimum score in each test before you can be shortlisted at all. The numbers themselves are not printed. |
| equi-percentile normalisation | When a paper is held in more than one session, the corrected scores of the different sessions are normalised by the equi-percentile method, and scores are taken to two decimal places. So an easier or harder session is not something you can be punished or rewarded for, and it is not something worth worrying about. |
| what counts for the merit list | For Office Assistant (Multipurpose), only the marks of the online Main examination. For Officer Scale-I, only the Main examination decides the interview shortlist and the merit. For Officer Scale-II and Scale-III, the Single Level examination does both. The Preliminary score is a gate and nothing more. |
| the interview | Only for Officer Scale-I, II and III — there is no interview for Office Assistant (Multipurpose). The interview carries 100 marks; the minimum qualifying mark is not less than 40%, and 35% for SC, ST, OBC and PwBD candidates. The weightage between the online examination and the interview is 80:20. |
| shortlisting ratio for the interview | The advertisement caps it: candidates called for interview in each category will not exceed three times the declared vacancies — for Officer Scale-I, three times the vacancies in each state. It also says that scores in the Main or Single Level examination are not shared with shortlisted candidates until the interview process is over. |
| pre-examination training | Free training may be arranged in online mode for a limited number of candidates — SC, ST, OBC, minority community, ex-servicemen and PwBD candidates for Office Assistant (Multipurpose), and SC, ST, OBC and minority community candidates for Officer Scale-I. You have to ask for it in the relevant column of the online application; you cannot ask later. |
| proficiency in the local language | For Office Assistant (Multipurpose) and Officer Scale-I this is an essential qualification, not a preference. A candidate who studied the state's language in standard VIII or above is treated as proficient. If you do not meet it at the time of selection, the advertisement gives you six months from the date of joining to acquire it, extendable by the RRB's board but never beyond the probation period. |
The language your paper is printed in, state by state
| State / UT | Versions of the tests available |
|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh | English, Hindi and Telugu |
| Arunachal Pradesh | English and Hindi |
| Assam | English, Hindi and Assamese |
| Bihar | English and Hindi |
| Chhattisgarh | English and Hindi |
| Gujarat | English, Hindi and Gujarati |
| Haryana | English and Hindi |
| Himachal Pradesh | English and Hindi |
| Jammu & Kashmir | English, Hindi and Urdu |
| Jharkhand | English and Hindi |
| Karnataka | English, Hindi, Kannada and Konkani |
| Kerala | English, Hindi and Malayalam |
| Madhya Pradesh | English and Hindi |
| Maharashtra | English, Hindi, Marathi and Konkani |
| Manipur | English, Hindi and Manipuri |
| Meghalaya | English and Hindi |
| Mizoram | English and Hindi |
| Nagaland | English and Hindi |
| Odisha | English, Hindi and Odia |
| Puducherry | English, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam |
| Punjab | English, Hindi and Punjabi |
| Rajasthan | English and Hindi |
| Tamil Nadu | English, Hindi and Tamil |
| Telangana | English, Hindi, Telugu and Urdu |
| Tripura | English, Hindi and Bengali |
| Uttar Pradesh | English, Hindi and Urdu |
| Uttarakhand | English and Hindi |
| West Bengal | English, Hindi and Bengali |
Who can apply — the advertisement's post-wise qualification, experience and age
| Post | Essential educational qualification | Post-qualification experience | Age as on 01.09.2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office Assistant (Multipurpose) | Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognized University or its equivalent; proficiency in the local language prescribed by the participating RRB. Working knowledge of computers is desirable. | Not required | Between 18 and 28 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1998 and not later than 01.09.2008 |
| Officer Scale-I (Assistant Manager) | Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognized University or its equivalent; proficiency in the local language prescribed by the participating RRB. Preference for degrees in agriculture, horticulture, forestry, animal husbandry, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, pisciculture, agricultural marketing and cooperation, information technology, management, law, economics or accountancy. Computer knowledge desirable. | Not required | Above 18 and below 30 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1996 and not later than 01.09.2008 |
| Officer Scale-II — General Banking Officer (Manager) | Bachelor's degree in any discipline with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate. Preference for degrees in banking, finance, marketing, agriculture and the allied subjects listed for Scale-I. | Two years as an officer in a Bank or Financial Institution | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-II — Information Technology Officer | Bachelor's degree in electronics, communication, computer science or information technology or its equivalent with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate. A certificate in ASP, PHP, C++, Java, VB, VC or OCP is desirable. | One year in the relevant field | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-II — Chartered Accountant | Certified Associate of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India | One year as a Chartered Accountant | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-II — Law Officer | Degree in law or its equivalent from a recognised University with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate | Two years as an advocate, or two years as a Law Officer in a Bank or Financial Institution | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-II — Treasury Manager | Chartered Accountant, or an MBA in Finance from a recognized university or institution | One year in the relevant field | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-II — Marketing Officer | MBA in Marketing from a recognized university | One year in the relevant field | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-II — Agricultural Officer | Bachelor's degree in agriculture, horticulture, dairy, animal husbandry, forestry, veterinary science, agricultural engineering or pisciculture, or its equivalent, with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate | Two years in the relevant field | Above 21 and below 32 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1994 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-III (Senior Manager) | Bachelor's degree in any discipline with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate. Preference for a degree or diploma in banking, finance, marketing, agriculture and the allied subjects listed for Scale-I. | Minimum 5 years as an officer in a Bank or Financial Institution | Above 21 and below 40 years — born not earlier than 02.09.1986 and not later than 01.09.2005 |
Age relaxation permissible beyond the upper age limit
| Category | Relaxation |
|---|---|
| Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe | 5 years |
| Other Backward Classes (non-creamy layer) | 3 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disability, as defined under the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen and Disabled Ex-Servicemen, for Office Assistant (Multipurpose) only | The actual period of service rendered in the defence forces plus 3 years (8 years for Disabled Ex-Servicemen belonging to SC/ST), subject to a maximum age limit of 50 years |
| Ex-servicemen commissioned officers, including ECOs and SSCOs, with at least 5 years' military service, released on completion of assignment — for the Officers' posts | 5 years |
| Widows, divorced women and women legally separated from their husbands who have not remarried, for Office Assistant (Multipurpose) only | Age concession up to 35 years for General and EWS, up to 38 years for OBC and up to 40 years for SC/ST candidates |
Dates and fee, as the advertisement prints them
| Item | As printed in the advertisement |
|---|---|
| Online registration of application | 01.09.2026 to 21.09.2026 |
| Payment of application fee / intimation charges (online) | 01.09.2026 to 21.09.2026 |
| Edit window to modify or correct the application form | For 2 days after registration closes; will be notified on the official IBPS website |
| Conduct of Pre-Exam Training | November 2026 |
| Call letters for the Preliminary examination | November / December 2026 |
| Online Preliminary examination (Officers / Office Assistants) | November / December 2026 |
| Result of the Preliminary examination | December 2026 / January 2027 |
| Call letters for the Main / Single Level examination | December 2026 / January 2027 |
| Online Main / Single Level examination | December 2026 / February 2027 |
| Declaration of the Main / Single Level result (Officers Scale I, II and III) | January 2027 |
| Call letters for the interview (Officers Scale I, II and III) | January 2027 |
| Conduct of the interview (Officers Scale I, II and III) | January / February 2027 |
| Provisional allotment (all four posts) | February / March 2027 |
| Application fee — Officer Scale I, II and III | Rs.175/- (inclusive of GST) for SC/ST/PwBD candidates; Rs.850/- (inclusive of GST) for all others |
| Application fee — Office Assistant (Multipurpose) | Rs.175/- (inclusive of GST) for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM candidates; Rs.850/- (inclusive of GST) for all others |
| Date on which age is reckoned | 01.09.2026 |
| Date by which the qualifying result must be declared | 21.09.2026 |
The choices you make on the application form, and what they lock
| The choice on the form | What it decides, in the advertisement's own terms |
|---|---|
| the State or Union Territory you apply for | One state, one application. Table A of the advertisement lists one participating Regional Rural Bank for each of 28 states and union territories, and the vacancies, the desired local language and the provisional allotment all follow from that choice. This is the one decision on the form that you cannot undo later. |
| the version of tests you choose | The online application asks you to pick the medium of examination from the versions available for your state. The advertisement's own list runs from two versions in states like Bihar and Rajasthan to five in Puducherry, and it warns candidates to be careful in exercising this option. If the English and the translated version ever disagree, the English one prevails. |
| the examination centre | Candidates for Officer Scale-I and Office Assistant have to select centres within that State or Union Territory only. No request to change the centre is entertained, and the advertisement reserves the right to allot you a centre you did not opt for, even outside the state whose vacancies you applied against. |
| order of preference for the RRBs | The order of preference for Regional Rural Banks is built into the online application form, and candidates for Scale-II and Scale-III must necessarily fill it in at that stage. No request to change it afterwards is entertained, and the provisional allotment is made on a merit-cum-preference basis. |
| keeping the email and mobile number alive | Every intimation — call letters included — goes only to the email ID and mobile number registered in the application form, and the advertisement says plainly that it takes no responsibility if they do not reach you. It asks candidates to keep the email account active until the result of this round is declared, and to watch ibps.in themselves. |
On examination day, as the advertisement prints it
| At the examination centre | What the advertisement says |
|---|---|
| the call letter and the photo identity | You carry the call letter and a photocopy of a currently valid photo identity whose name matches the call letter exactly. The advertisement's own list of acceptable proofs: PAN card, passport, permanent driving licence, voter's card with photograph, bank passbook with photograph, a photo identity issued by a gazetted officer or a people's representative on official letterhead, a college or university identity card, Aadhaar or e-Aadhaar with a photograph, an employee ID, or a Bar Council identity card with photograph. |
| identity proofs that are not accepted | A ration card and a learner's driving licence are named in the advertisement as NOT valid for this selection process. A candidate whose name has changed is allowed only on producing the original gazette notification, the original marriage certificate, or an affidavit in original. |
| stationery and calculators | Barred inside the centre: any textual material printed or written, bits of paper, a geometry or pencil box, a plastic pouch, a calculator, a scale or ruler, a writing pad, pen drives, a log table and an electronic pen or scanner. Plan to work without any of them. |
| communication devices | Also barred: mobile phones, Bluetooth devices, earphones, microphones, pagers and health bands. So are cameras and any device with a screen-freeze or storage facility, and any other item that could hide one. |
| watches, ornaments and metallic items | Any watch or wrist watch, goggles, handbags, hair-pins, hair-bands, belts and caps are on the barred list, and so is any metallic item. Ornaments — finger rings, earrings, nose pins, chains, necklaces, pendants, badges, brooches — are to be thoroughly checked. Any eatable item, opened or packed, is also barred. |
| what breaking these rules costs | The advertisement states that any infringement entails cancellation of candidature and disciplinary action including a ban from future examinations and police complaints, and that nobody will keep your banned items safe at the venue. Separately, it says it analyses answer patterns and logs across candidates and may cancel candidature without notice where the responses appear to have been shared. |
Not covered in this pack — where to find it
| A topic-wise syllabus | IBPS does not publish one. The advertisement names each test and prints its questions, marks and minutes, and prints nothing under any of those names — the word 'syllabus' does not appear in the 76-page document at all. It says the detailed information about the online examination will be in the Information Handout, released with the call letter on ibps.in. Any chapter list you find elsewhere is somebody's guess, and this page will not repeat it. Official PDF ↗ |
|---|---|
| Salary, pay scale or emoluments | The advertisement carries no pay scale, no basic pay and no CTC for any of the four posts. The only mentions of the word 'salary' in the document are inside the EWS income definition and a certificate proforma. Official PDF ↗ |
| The professional-knowledge subject for each specialist post | The Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) paper has a Professional Knowledge test of 40 questions for 40 marks, and the advertisement does not say what it draws on for an IT Officer, a Chartered Accountant, a Law Officer, a Treasury Manager, a Marketing Officer or an Agricultural Officer. Official PDF ↗ |
| Exact examination dates | Only tentative months are printed — the Preliminary in November/December 2026 and the Main or Single Level in December 2026/February 2027. The advertisement asks candidates to watch the official IBPS website for the actual dates. Official PDF ↗ |
| Cut-off marks | Not stated. The advertisement requires a minimum score in each test and says the shortlist is fixed after the examination, capped at three times the declared vacancies for the interview. The only percentage it prints is the interview's own qualifying mark: 40%, and 35% for SC, ST, OBC and PwBD candidates. Official PDF ↗ |
| A total number of vacancies | Annexure I of the advertisement has no total row, and Tripura Gramin Bank is marked 'NR' — not reported — in every one of its ten tables. Any single all-India figure you see for this recruitment was added up by somebody, not printed by IBPS. The state-wise and category-wise tables are in the advertisement itself. Official PDF ↗ |
Free practice — 24 questions
Work out the answer yourself first, then tap “Show answer”. Every answer shows the method, not just the letter.
-
How many questions does the Preliminary examination carry, for either post?
- A 40
- B 80
- C 100
- D 200
Reasoning (Preliminary)Show answer
B — 80
80 questions for 80 marks — 40 Reasoning and 40 Numerical Ability or Quantitative Aptitude. The advertisement prints the same Total row for the Office Assistant and the Officer Scale-I Preliminary papers.
-
How long is the Preliminary examination in total?
- A 30 minutes
- B 45 minutes
- C 60 minutes
- D 120 minutes
Reasoning (Preliminary)Show answer
B — 45 minutes
45 minutes, printed as the Total row: 25 minutes for Reasoning and 20 minutes for the numerical test. The two timings are sectional and cannot be pooled.
-
In the Officer Scale-I Preliminary paper, how many minutes are given for Quantitative Aptitude?
- A 15 minutes
- B 20 minutes
- C 25 minutes
- D 30 minutes
Quantitative Aptitude (Preliminary, Officer Scale-I)Show answer
B — 20 minutes
20 minutes for 40 questions and 40 marks. Reasoning in the same paper gets 25 minutes for the same 40 questions.
-
How many marks does Reasoning carry in the Main examination?
- A 20
- B 40
- C 50
- D 60
Reasoning (Main)Show answer
C — 50
50 marks for 40 questions in 30 minutes. In the Preliminary paper the same test is worth 40 marks, so its value rises at exactly the stage that decides the merit.
-
How many marks does Computer Knowledge carry in the Main examination?
- A 20
- B 30
- C 40
- D 50
Computer Knowledge (Main)Show answer
A — 20
20 marks for 40 questions in 15 minutes — the lowest marks of any test in that paper, and the advertisement still prints 40 questions for it.
-
How many minutes are given for General Awareness in the Main examination?
- A 15 minutes
- B 20 minutes
- C 25 minutes
- D 30 minutes
General Awareness (Main)Show answer
A — 15 minutes
15 minutes for 40 questions worth 40 marks. Only Computer Knowledge shares that 15-minute slot, and it is worth half the marks.
-
In the Main examination, can a candidate attempt both the English Language and the Hindi Language tests?
- A Yes, both are compulsory
- B No — a candidate opts for either 4a or 4b
- C Yes, and the better of the two scores is counted
- D Only Officer Scale-I candidates may take both
English Language (Main)Show answer
B — No — a candidate opts for either 4a or 4b
The advertisement prints the line under both Main tables: candidates can opt either 4a or 4b. Both carry 40 questions, 40 marks and 30 minutes, so the choice does not change the paper's printed total.
-
Which paper in this recruitment carries 240 questions?
- A Officer Scale-I Main paper
- B Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) Single Level paper
- C Officer Scale-III Single Level paper
- D Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Main paper
Professional Knowledge (Specialist Cadre)Show answer
B — Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) Single Level paper
Its Total row reads 240 questions, 200 marks, 150 minutes — seven tests instead of five. Every other paper on this page is 200 questions for 200 marks in 120 minutes.
-
In the Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) paper, how many marks does the language test carry?
- A 20
- B 40
- C 50
- D 60
Hindi Language (Specialist Cadre)Show answer
A — 20
20 marks — for 40 questions in 30 minutes. In every other paper on this page the language test is worth 40 marks for the same questions and the same minutes.
-
What is deducted for each wrong answer?
- A Nothing
- B 0.25 of the marks assigned to that question
- C 0.5 of the marks assigned to that question
- D One full mark
Show answer
B — 0.25 of the marks assigned to that question
One fourth, or 0.25, of the marks assigned to that question — and the advertisement applies the same rule to the Preliminary, Main and Single Level examinations alike.
-
What happens to a question left blank?
- A Half a mark is deducted
- B 0.25 marks are deducted
- C There is no penalty for it
- D The whole section is cancelled
Show answer
C — There is no penalty for it
The advertisement says it plainly: if a question is left blank, that is, no answer is marked, there will be no penalty for that question.
-
For Office Assistant (Multipurpose), which examination's marks make the final merit list?
- A The Preliminary examination only
- B The online Main examination only
- C The Preliminary and Main examinations added together
- D The Main examination and the interview together
Show answer
B — The online Main examination only
Marks obtained only in the online Main examination are considered for the final merit list. There is no interview for this post at all, and the Preliminary score is used for nothing beyond shortlisting.
-
Which posts sit a Single Level examination instead of a Preliminary and a Main?
- A Office Assistant (Multipurpose) only
- B Officer Scale-I only
- C Officer Scale-II and Officer Scale-III
- D All four posts
Show answer
C — Officer Scale-II and Officer Scale-III
The advertisement states there will be a Single Level Examination for Officers Scale II and Officers Scale III. Office Assistant and Officer Scale-I go through the Preliminary and Main stages.
-
How many marks is the interview out of?
- A 50
- B 80
- C 100
- D 200
Show answer
C — 100
The total marks allotted for the interview are 100. It applies only to Officer Scale-I, II and III; there is no interview for Office Assistant (Multipurpose).
-
What is the weightage between the online examination and the interview for the officers' cadre?
- A 50:50
- B 60:40
- C 70:30
- D 80:20
Show answer
D — 80:20
80:20 — the advertisement prints the relative weightage of the online examination and the interview in that ratio for the officers' cadre.
-
What is the minimum qualifying mark in the interview for an unreserved candidate?
- A Not less than 30%
- B Not less than 35%
- C Not less than 40%
- D Not less than 50%
Show answer
C — Not less than 40%
Not less than 40%, and 35% for SC, ST, OBC and PwBD candidates. These are the only qualifying percentages printed anywhere in the advertisement.
-
How are the scores of candidates who sat different sessions of the same paper made comparable?
- A They are not — the raw score stands
- B They are normalised by the equi-percentile method
- C The highest score of each session is set to 100
- D A fixed number of marks is added to the harder session
Show answer
B — They are normalised by the equi-percentile method
The corrected scores obtained in different sessions are normalised using the equi-percentile method, and scores are taken up to two decimal points.
-
Is it enough to score well in the paper as a whole?
- A Yes, only the total matters
- B No — a minimum score is required in each test as well
- C Yes, provided you clear the interview
- D Only for Office Assistant candidates
Show answer
B — No — a minimum score is required in each test as well
Each candidate must obtain a minimum score in each test of the Main or Single Level examination to be shortlisted at all, and the advertisement adds that merely passing the individual tests may not be sufficient either.
-
A selected Officer Scale-I candidate does not yet have the state's local language. How long does the advertisement give them?
- A No time — the candidature is cancelled
- B Three months from joining
- C Six months from the date of joining
- D Until the end of service
Show answer
C — Six months from the date of joining
Six months from the date of joining, extendable by the boards of the RRBs within the framework of the rules, but never beyond the probation period. A candidate who studied that language in standard VIII or above is already treated as proficient.
-
On which date is age reckoned for this recruitment?
- A 01.09.2026
- B 21.09.2026
- C 01.01.2027
- D The date of the examination
Show answer
A — 01.09.2026
01.09.2026 — the day registration opened, not the day it closes. The educational qualification, by contrast, is reckoned as on the last date of registration, 21.09.2026.
-
Where may an Officer Scale-I or Office Assistant candidate choose their examination centre?
- A Anywhere in India
- B Only within the State or Union Territory they applied for
- C Only in the state where they currently live
- D The centre is allotted with no choice at all
Show answer
B — Only within the State or Union Territory they applied for
Within that State or Union Territory only. The advertisement adds that no request to change the centre is entertained and that it may still allot a centre other than the one opted for, even outside that state.
-
Which of these is NOT accepted as photo identity at the examination centre?
- A PAN card
- B Aadhaar with a photograph
- C Ration card
- D Voter's card with a photograph
Show answer
C — Ration card
The advertisement names the ration card and the learner's driving licence as not valid identity proof for this selection process. The other three are on its own list of accepted proofs.
-
May a candidate carry a calculator into the examination centre?
- A Yes, a simple one is allowed
- B Yes, if the invigilator permits it
- C No — calculators are on the barred list
- D Only for the Quantitative Aptitude section
Show answer
C — No — calculators are on the barred list
Calculators are named in the barred list along with log tables, scales, writing pads, pen drives and any printed or written material, and any infringement entails cancellation of candidature.
-
How does an eligible candidate get Pre-Examination Training?
- A It is given to every candidate automatically
- B By filling the relevant column in the online application
- C By writing to the RRB after the Preliminary result
- D By paying an extra fee at the examination centre
Show answer
B — By filling the relevant column in the online application
All eligible candidates who wish to avail of the training should fill in the relevant column in the online application. The advertisement also says attending the training gives no candidate any right to be selected.
These questions are built from the official pattern and syllabus on this page. Every answer was independently re-solved before it was published.
FAQ — Your Questions, Answered
Where is the official syllabus published?
www.ibps.in
How many questions come from Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Preliminary paper?
80
How many questions come from Officer Scale-I Preliminary paper?
80
How many questions come from Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Main paper?
200
How many questions come from Officer Scale-I Main paper?
200
How many questions come from Officer Scale-II (General Banking Officer) Single Level paper?
200
A topic-wise syllabus — where do I find this?
IBPS does not publish one. The advertisement names each test and prints its questions, marks and minutes, and prints nothing under any of those names — the word 'syllabus' does not appear in the 76-page document at all. It says the detailed information about the online examination will be in the Information Handout, released with the call letter on ibps.in. Any chapter list you find elsewhere is somebody's guess, and this page will not repeat it.
Salary, pay scale or emoluments — where do I find this?
The advertisement carries no pay scale, no basic pay and no CTC for any of the four posts. The only mentions of the word 'salary' in the document are inside the EWS income definition and a certificate proforma.
Every figure on this page — each test's questions, marks, medium and duration, each paper's printed total, the wrong-answer penalty, the interview weightage, the fee, the age windows, the qualification table and the state-wise version list — is read off IBPS's own 76-page CRP RRBs XV advertisement and explained here in our own words. Where the advertisement is silent, this page says so rather than filling the gap. The schedule in it is tentative, so confirm the dates against the document itself: IBPS, CRP RRBs XV detailed advertisement (ibps.in) ↗
This exam recruits at these levels: Graduate
Note — Always confirm the syllabus and pattern against that year's official notification — changes are possible.
Official source: https://www.ibps.in/wp-content/uploads/CRP-RRBs-XV-notification.pdf